Skip to the content

Marc Ramser

Marc Ramser

The hammered dulcimer as a way of life

For me, constructing and playing a hammered dulcimer have been an important part of my life since the end of the 1970s. The development and improvement of this fascinating music instrument have become a central part of my activities.

The optimum synthesis of sound, aesthetics, form and practical application—in handling as well as for the evolvement of musical possibilities—are the characteristics of the music instruments that I develop today.

New developments

Special developments such as the chromatic note arrangement with the bass octave and the additional playing levels (see the tuning schemes), the pedal-operated muting system and the electronic sound pickup system are the reasons that my instruments have found such wide application in the most varied music styles.

Other music instruments

I love to construct instruments meeting the imagination and wishes of individual musicians. This is how the bass hammered dulcimer, the Persian santoor and the White Russian cymbali were developed, as well as the sound bed for use in sound therapy and the two polychord models.

Activities as musician and teacher

From 2005 to 2015 I worked as teacher for hammered dulcimer at Music School Konservatorium Zürich. Since 2008 I am teaching at Music School Köniz near Bern. Beside I receive my privat students at my home in Mamishaus.

A milestone in my musical career was my involvement in the event Acoustic Body Switzerland at the world fair Expo 2000 in Hannover (Germany).

Furthermore, I'm a founding member of the hammered dulcimer group TuneX which evolved from the event Acoustic Body Switzerland. TuneX is not existing anymore.


Born in Olten, Switzerland, in 1954; studied physical education at the University of Bern; was a Demeter farmer for 22 years; father of a daughter and a son.

Direkt zum Inhalt

Marc Ramser

Marc Ramser

Das Hackbrett als Lebensthema

Hackbrettbau und Hackbrettspiel sind für mich seit Ende der Siebzigerjahre wichtige Lebens­themen. Die Weiter­ent­wicklung dieses faszinierenden Musik­instrumentes wurde zu einem bedeutenden Teil meiner Aktivitäten.

Die optimale Synthese von Klang, Ästhetik, Form und praktischer Anwendbarkeit – sowohl in der Handhabung wie auch zur Entfaltung musikalischer Möglichkeiten – zeichnen heute die von mir entwickelten Musikinstrumente aus.

Neuentwicklungen

Spezialitäten wie die von mir entwickelte systematisch-chromatische Tonanordnung mit Bassoktave und zusätzlichen Spielebenen (siehe Stimmschemen), die pedalgesteuerte Dämpfung der Saiten und die elektronische Tonabnahme haben es mit sich gebracht, dass meine Instrumente unterdessen in unterschiedlichen Musikrichtungen eingesetzt werden und sich internationaler Beliebtheit erfreuen.

Andere Musikinstrumente

Sehr gerne baue ich auch Instrumente nach den individuellen Wünschen und Vorstellungen von MusikerInnen. Auf diese Weise sind Bass-Hackbrett, persisches Santur und ein weissrussisches Cimbali entstanden. Ebenso das Klangbett, welches für die Anwendung in der Klangtherapie unterdessen sehr gefragt ist, und die beiden Polychord-Modelle.

Musiker und Lehrer

Von 2005 bis 2015 war ich Hackbrettlehrer an der Musikschule Konservatorium Zürich. Seit 2008 unterrichte ich an der Musikschule Köniz bei Bern. Zudem erteile ich an meinem Wohnort Mamishaus Privatunterricht.

Ein Meilenstein in meiner musikalischen Laufbahn war das Engagement im Klangkörper Schweiz an der Weltausstellung Expo 2000 in Hannover.

Im Weiteren war ich Gründungsmitglied des aus dem Klangkörper Schweiz hervorgegangenen und inzwischen aufgelösten Hackbrettensembles TuneX.

Biographisches

1954 in Olten geboren, Ausbildung zum Turnlehrer an der Universität Bern, während 22 Jahren als Demeter-Landwirt tätig, Vater einer Tochter und eines Sohnes.

2002 - 2017 | Realisierung und Unterhalt: Webdesign exQuisito